Another Milestone for Milestone

25 October 2017

Milestone NisaExtra Rathfriland scoops three awards Returning champion Milestone NisaExtra Rathfriland has been named the overall winner at the recent Neighbourhood Retailer Awards, picking up three awards including the Neighbourhood Retailer of the Year prize. Hosted by household names, Pamela Ballantine and Stephen Clements, the 2017 awards saw almost 500 of Northern Ireland’s best retailers descend on the Crowne Plaza in Belfast on the evening of Friday, 20 October. As well as the coveted overall prize, Milestone Rathfriland took home the prestigious Deli of the Year trophy for their dedication to providing exceptional quality and affordable food-to-go. They were also pronounced top in their field as Neighbourhood Retailer of the Year Category 4. The retail sector is one of Northern Ireland’s biggest, employing over 70,000 workers and buying some £7 billion of local agri-food stocks. Retailers pay over £1 billion in rates and invest heavily in their businesses, generating a wealth of activity for the local economy. It’s a contribution honoured annually by the biggest awards for the sector, the Neighbourhood Retailer Awards. The awards, which next year celebrate their 20th anniversary, are the industry benchmark for excellence in the local sector, driving innovation and competition among NI’s best independent retailers. Commenting at the event, organiser and publisher of Neighbourhood Retailer, Bill Penton, said: “2017 has been a fantastic year for the Neighbourhood Retailer brand and the gala awards have been incredibly successful. We are especially grateful to all of our sponsors for their continued support and would like to extend a special thanks to our overall sponsor RiverRidge. “Congratulations to Tom McAvoy and all the team at Milestone Nisa Extra, Rathfriland which was named overall winner on the night. Having been recognised as Retailer of the Year twice before, Milestone Nisa Extra continues to impress the panel of judges with its winning formula and we are delighted to welcome back this incredible store as our 2017 winner.